Skip to content

Sony's Next State Of Play Broadcast Arrives Next Week

Sony's Next State Of Play Broadcast Arrives Next Week

Sony isn’t letting the year go without a few more announcements; the company just scheduled another State of Play broadcast for next week.

State of Plays are like Sony’s version of a Nintendo Direct (or, if we want to flatter ourselves, our VR Showcase events). They’re short video presentations announcing new games and updating us on other titles. Next week’s episode will air on December 10 at 6am PT/9am ET/2pm GMT. It will feature around 20 minutes of content and include new titles.

As always, we’ll be eager to see what PSVR announcements might come during the show. Previous State of Play episodes revealed Iron Man VR, No Man’s Sky VR and Humanity. It’s likely that this installment will spend significant time devoted to traditional PS4 games (the rumors around a Resident Evil 3 Remake are really heating up) but hopefully there will still be some time for PSVR.

And, no, there won’t be any news about PS5 in this show. Even on that front, we’re not expecting PSVR2 (currently unannounced) to release next year. That leaves us wondering how Sony is going to sustain PSVR for an extra year or two as the headset starts to appear increasingly dated. We know that Iron Man VR is coming in February 2020 and a port of Gorn is on the way too. But, outside of that, we don’t really know what PSVR fans have to look forward to next year.

Hopefully next week’s show will shed some light on that. We’ll be bringing you a full report of any PSVR announcements from the show so stay tuned. In the meantime, why not take to the comments to let us know what you’re hoping to see from the show?

UploadVR Member Takes

Weekly Newsletter

See More